On August 1, Dr. Annette Trimbee joined the university to start her five-year term as MacEwan University’s sixth president and vice-chancellor. With strong ties to Edmonton, Dr. Trimbee returns to Alberta in a time of change, economic recovery and opportunity. Please join the Board of Governors in extending a warm welcome to Dr. Trimbee as we begin this new chapter for the university.

Drawn to MacEwan for its vibrant downtown campus, its focus on students, diversity and inclusion, student engaged research and academic excellence, Dr. Trimbee will work with our teams to build on our history, successes and accomplishments, and to promote and solidify MacEwan’s presence as an urban, downtown undergraduate university. Along with her role as president and vice-chancellor, Dr. Trimbee will hold an academic appointment as professor in the Department of Biological Sciences.

As we welcome Dr. Trimbee to campus, I can assure you that MacEwan’s priority is the safety of our students, faculty and staff as we move through our campus relaunch process, and we remain prepared to respond to changing circumstances to keep our university community safe. Dr. Trimbee has been working with our teams to ensure she is up to date with our campus plans and is keen to engage with the MacEwan Relaunch Strategy Team upon her arrival.

Plans are also underway for the university community to get to know Dr. Trimbee as we move into the Fall term. Upon her arrival, Dr. Trimbee will connect with our staff, students and extended community virtually and safely in-person, as the situation allows. She will get to know our campus and learn about our culture and our people. If you are on campus and see her, please introduce yourself and welcome her back to Edmonton. Read more about Dr. Trimbee and what brought her to MacEwan.

I would also like to thank John McGrath for his exceptional leadership, calm and thoughtfulness as he led us through a very difficult budget process and health crisis. I wish John all the best on his well-deserved retirement later this fall.


Carolyn Graham
Chair, Board of Governors